A Grotesque and Sinister Pantomime


I have been bullied by my women into sitting through the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games.

Since it would pain me too greatly to make detailed observations on this grotesque and sinister pantomime, I will confine myself to announcing that, for permitting it to go ahead, I have placed David Cameron ahead of Tony Blair in my Great Bill of Attainder.

17 responses to “A Grotesque and Sinister Pantomime

  1. Radical Rodent

    Maybe so, TP; however, what really grates with me is that the announcement are in French before English – talk about appeasing minorities!

    I also felt that the pre-athlete show seemed heavily laden with subliminal messages, somewhat akin to brainwashing.

    Perhaps I need to get out more.

  2. James Rodyer

    The opening ceremony was no worse than I remember in Peking or Athens. If anything it was cheeringly amateurish. Britain lost all international respect in the 1970s, so let’s be like Italians and enjoy whatever happens purely as entertainment and not fret over imaginary prestige.

  3. When you’re as far to the right as I am, you soon learn to accept that you will spend most of your life spluttering with impotent rage. But this is cruelty itself.

  4. I have hated this thing since before the IOC was bribed into giving us all the privilege of paying for their masturbatory jamboree. It is despicable and ghastly, and I wish it nothing but failure. I would rather poke forks into my eyes than watch one second of it.

  5. Not quite spluttering with rage here Sean. Largely because it was all done on the cheap (like: did they really crank-up chimney stacks like that in the old days mummy?) and so lost much of its effect; but I certainly sympathise with your sentiments.

    Brainwashing under-40s with left-wing views has become the hallmark of the BBC. It’s become so regular and sinister that even they know it’s better done now using strobes, masks, music and a dance.

    I’m no kill-joy, I’ve done a lot of fun-stuff already this year, but this attempt to impress the world that England exists somewhere ‘over the rainbow’ really does bring me close to puking.

    Paul McCartney was supposed to be the wizard wasn’t he?

  6. I know that bigging up the NHS won’t be popular in some quarters, but whether our “side” like it or not it is a popular institution. If they have a nostalgic High Tory vision of Merrie England and a starring role for the Queen you can hardly be surprised if they also include national symbols that people less keen on these symbols can also relate to.

    That said I thought the selection of people carrying the Olympic flag was ridiculously politicised.

  7. There may be two libertarians somewhere who agree about everything, but I am not one of those two. I thought the ceremony had something for everyone. I especially liked Evelyn Glennie on drums, and the culmination in which the 204 petals were lit, and converged upwards to form a single blaze of fire. I never expected to like all of it, anyway.

    BTW: Since when was Libertarianism a “Far Right” doctrine?

    Tony

  8. I think Sean was using “right” as a simplification of the position that most conservative classical liberals take.

  9. It was a harmless and technically impressive presentation of democratic ordinariness in neat juxtaposition to the mutant heroism of extreme genetic achievement … a good corrective to the Riefenstahl tendencies within our elite.

    Yes, lots of Leftie messages but by no means bad ones … this was the Old British Left if anything, collective action for freedom rather than the creepy Frankfort School meets authoritarian statism of Blairismo. The elite looked quite uncomfortable and the IOC Speech was a model of decent aspiration and fair play that could be as easily redirected at the dopes who ran us into the ground (of all parties and professions) as at the dopers who do not understand sportsmanship.

    Personally, I was not happy at Blair’s throwing our cash into this enterprise which is of no or little economic value to us and could have been a dubious opportunity for grandstanding by the second-raters who rule us but Danny Boyle grabbed the opportunity and he ran with it for Joe Ordinary who also deserves something for his taxes.

    Lord Coe showed more leadership in ten minutes than any other Tory I have seen do for some considerable time. It was technically magnificent and it confused a lot of Americans – that alone has to be worth the money :-)

    Basically, the show said that we may be in a mess in many ways but we can put on a damn fine show and match if not out-class the state resources of China through mobilising ordinary volunteers – not one conscript!

  10. Define “The Right”. Isn’t the whole point of being a LIbertarian not being on either side of the hegemonic divide?

    I can’t help feeling it’s like saying being an atheist, and people keep asking, “Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?”.

  11. It’s a propaganda gift to our opponents, for our beloved leader to describe himself as ‘far to the Right.’ I don’t know if Sean reads his own posts with that in mind. Quite a few of his posts actually come across as belonging to the “Far Right” cluster.

    Tony

    • If you must call me “beloved leader,” you might as well do it properly and call me Beloved Leader. The Libertarian Alliance doesn’t trouble itself with public relations. Its officers say what they think and trust in its truth.

  12. I prefer to call you “Sean”, actually!

    Tony

    PS: I got a Your message is being moderated thingy

  13. I prefer “Dear Leader”. I would hate to be the follower of somebody cheap.