John Warren on the Great Debate over Naughty Words on the LA Blog


by John Warren

Ian is quite right of course, our language is in constant flux.

One of the main reasons for that probably being that it’s now become a world language (unless one unexpectedly finds oneself in France of course).

So, here we see Julie (from near Chicago) reading and understanding the language in a slightly different way to Ian. Not only that, her coffee drinking experiences over there in the States, differs slightly to those generally experienced over here. Contrary to popular belief, the American coffee drinker usually shows just about twice the consideration shown by their European counterparts. Nearly always clearing up their tables before leaving and the men generally being more polite to the ladies. Something which never seems to happen in England anymore (I stopped being considerate because of the strange looks I was getting from the female staff who probably thought I was only cleaning up because I fancied stroking a pussy – right word is it Ian?)

I’ve been happily frequenting Starbucks for more years than I can recall; right back to the Starsky and Hutch TV series in fact. An American girlfriend at the time took me into the branch where it all started (so she said) in Hollywood. However, in all the years and the hundreds of times I’ve sat and happily chatted in Starbucks, I’ve never once felt a load of left-wingers to be inside crowding the place. More a general mix of political opinion I’d say.

In England, it tends more to be mothers of every persuasion with noisy children lousing the room up with never ending screams and crying (the kids usually drink pop from bottles brought in – which nicely explains it). The other thing that finally put an end to my visits, is the man who pays for coffee to go (slightly cheaper) then takes up a table for himself and his f..king laptop. Never once, in my experience, have such offenders been told to leave. Probably because it’s not company policy to offend offenders.

Weird or what? They’ll prevent someone swearing quietly into a laptop but allow a thief to occupy a space he’s effectively gained by deception.

But there I go arguing against myself, for isn’t that precisely what left-wingers are good at?

But why do people use Starbucks so often; or any of the other coffee chains for that matter? My view is, that they do so because the coffee always (nearly always) tastes the same and the space you’ll find yourself sitting in (if the bastard with the lap-top has not planted his arse already) will seem familiar. You can usually bet on it. From Moscow to LA the coffee remains broadly consistent. It’s only downside is that it’s a global chain and therefore unremittingly, sickeningly pc.

That part is a shame for sure; but I wouldn’t know how to change it.

Not without bullets, bullets, bullets anyway. Sorry if the word offends.

4 responses to “John Warren on the Great Debate over Naughty Words on the LA Blog

  1. Julie near Chicago

    John, that’s very interesting. A couple of points:

    Near Chicago (within at a minimum a 100-mile radius) I have NEVER seen a child in Starbucks. Never. Not once! What I see is mostly college, or at least college-aged, young people with their laptops, or over-22 sports like myself … with our laptops. And plenty of the same age-group lined up for takeout. It is simply the Done Thing.

    But here, there’s no difference in price whether you drink your coffee on the premises or drink it in the car (or wherever).

    I saw one headline on the decision of British Starbucks. It occurred to me that those new rules might not apply here. In light of what you say, I wonder if the British Starbucks have a different sort of clientele, in which children are a regular occurrence, and might wish to stay away from “opprobrious epithets” and so forth for that reason; nothing to do with left-wing censorship.

    It’s hard for me to believe that one would find all that much leftism in a Starbucks entertaining the same crowd as MacDonald’s, but you’re there and I’m not. :)

  2. Julie, I may be being a trifle conspiratorial, but here in Britain there seems to be a particular policy by The Enemy of pushing children (i.e. “families”) into previously adult spaces, notably pubs, in order to infantlise those spaces and subvert them. Pubs in particular (I don’t know how true this is of the USA) were spaces where “unacceptable” behaviour could occur- largely devoid of social class and the associated rules, where people could relax. So forcing children into them makes them places that are forced to conform to the (puritan/virtuous) “public morality”. You can’t swear like a trooper, say politically incorrect things, allow strippagrams and so on when “children might see or hear”.

    Thus, the pressure for everywhere to be “family friendly”. I think it’s deliberate. I also suspect there’s a simple emotional thing going on, that adult spaces like pubs were intimidating to the wallflower university students who hang around in political party clubs, particularly leftist ones, and they have carried that hostility throughout life.

  3. My Australian coffee shop is perfectly benign. You do get people staying on long after they have finished but there are enough seats so it is no problem. And the babies are not noisy. Mothers pacify them with food & drink> But I guess the clientele are mostly middle class. Of all ages though.

  4. Julie near Chicago

    Bottom line: When doing business in Rome, do as the Emperor says. For whatever value of “Emperor.”