Nicholas Dykes


Kevin MacFarlane has e-mailed me as given below in dark blue. On behalf of the Libertarian Alliance, I send Nick all good wishes for a speedy and a full recovery. Our thoughts are with him this Christmas. SIG

I received a voicemail from Nick Dykes the other day asking me to tell everyone that he is still alive. He suffered a stroke a few weeks ago as described to me by his wife…

‘It was a “subarachnoid haemorrhage” and happened very early on the Sunday morning, the paramedic came very quickly and he was taken first to Hereford and then on to the QE in Birmingham.  He was out of intensive care by the Thursday, back in on Monday with pneumonia but is now making good progress.  His left side was very weak but that has improved enormously and although he is very muddled, to our amazement yesterday, he answered 14 clues in the Telegraph quick crossword!  He is also giving us lots of philosophical thoughts!

So, it has been a bit of a roller coaster but I am very pleased with his progress. I don’t know how long he is going to be in B’ham but I think he will go back to Hereford before coming home.’

In his voicemail message he did appear sound of mind but I’ve no idea what physical damage may have ensued.

One response to “Nicholas Dykes

  1. Sad news.

    But at least the gentleman’s mind is still active.