Daily Archives: 5 February, 2013

Django Unchained, Review by Robert Henderson


by Robert Henderson
http://livinginamadhouse.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/politically-incorrect-film-reviews-django-unchained/

Note: I will see the film Lincoln this week. From the various reviews I have read it is distorts history grossly for pc effect. Those who think that Lincoln was committed wholehearted to abolition might care to reflect that Lincoln, in his first inaugural address on March 4, 1861, quoted the proposed Corwin Amendment which would have effectively have banned the abolition of slavery by Congress :

“I understand a proposed amendment to the Constitution . . . has passed Congress, to the effect that the Federal Government shall never interfere with the domestic institutions of the States, including that of persons held to service. I have no objection to its being made express and irrevocable.”‘

and

ABRAHAM LINCOLN, in his debate with Senator Douglas at Quincy, IL, on Oct. 13, 1858 and quoted in Abraham Lincoln – Complete Works, published by The Century Co., 1894, Vol. I, page 273 stated:

“I will say, then, that I am not, nor ever have been, in favor of bringing about in any way the social and political equality of the White and Black races – that I am not, nor ever have been, in favor of making voters or jurors of Negroes – nor of qualifying them to hold office, nor to inter-marry with White people; and I will say in addition to this that there ia a physical difference between the White and Black races which will ever forbid the two races living together on terms of social and political equality, and in as much as they cannot so live, while they do remain together, there must be the position of superior and inferior, and I, as much as any other man, am in favor of having the superior position assigned to the White race.” [RH] Continue reading