Long Haul Layovers – Newark And Singapore


http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/DickPuddlecote/~3/uMdW1RtOnxk/long-haul-layovers-newark-and-singapore.html

Long Haul Layovers – Newark And SingaporeNote: I am not Dick Puddlecote.

Thank you to everyone who welcomed me to Dick’s blog last month with your comments, if you missed it you can read how I introduced myself here.

We are now at that time of year when many people will be booking holidays, here are some tips for two regular airports for long haul layovers for those of us who enjoy a smoke.

If you travel to the west coast of America, it is possible you may stop at Newark airport along the way.

Newark airport. Ok, you cannot smoke anywhere in the airport. However, if you have a layover there and flying to Europe, the chances are that you will be going from terminal C. There are a couple of things to think about here. The first is duty free. If you are on a layover and get into terminal C, go buy the duty free before you do anything else. The beauty of this airport is that you buy the duty free and get a receipt. You will only get your goods at the gate when boarding so no need to worry about carrying it around with you. If you fly into terminal A, you can get a bus which will take you to terminal C, which again means you can take care of duty free before anything else.

OK, so you have duty free and you have a few hours to spare. You go out of departures to have a cigarette, cigar or whatever else takes your fancy. The first thing that will hit you is that there is nothing outside departures at Terminal C to entertain you. So, have your smoke then jump on the free airtrain (or walk, there are decent walkways and will help stretch the legs) and go to terminals A or B. my preference is Tony Romas at terminal A. You can have a drink, some food, then go have a cigarette after. In fact, on a four hour layover, I spoke to the staff and was able to pop out for a smoke between drinks!

It is also worth mentioning that although it may be publicised that you can only smoke outside Newark at one of the designated smoking areas, this is incorrect. Walk out the door and light up, everyone else does. There are also ashtrays everywhere outside.

On your return to terminal C, go upstairs, out of the doors and walk left. When you get to the end of the terminal, you will see steps on your left. This takes you to an outdoor smoking area with seats. It is also next to security and I usually find that one the quieter of the 3 security gates in that terminal. Note that the later it gets the quieter it is, but beware that they might also close some gates so make sure to ask if this might be the case to give yourself plenty of time to get to your flight.

If you are thinking of travelling to Australia, it is possible that you may have a stopover in Singapore.

The most important thing to remember about Singapore airport is that you are not allowed any ingoing duty free allowance on tobacco (you’re also not allowed to bring chewing gum in either, it is banned!). They don’t mess about either, please note that there is a large fine and prison sentence if you are caught smuggling tobacco in. This is not just with duty free, but even with those bought tax paid before you leave!

I had read you could buy duty free and pay the tax, however this is not the case. I tried to buy cigarettes once in Dubai and was refused as I was off to Singapore, even though I said I intended to declare them. Cigarettes in Singapore are S$12 per pack. However, on your way home you can get your duty free at around £15 for 200….go figure!

Note also that you can only take 50 cigarettes into Australia which is a new regulation. I have not seen it in other airports yet, but in Singapore you can buy 50 cigarettes (2×25 packs) especially for the purpose.

However, despite the country being one of the most vociferous against smoking, there are still various smoking rooms around the airport. Singapore has designated areas outside, usually one or the other end of this huge airport. People generally will not smoke out of these areas. Just get through to departures and you will find much nicer areas to smoke. Note too that dropping litter is a serious offence in Singapore. Do not take any chances.

In terminal 1 there is the Cactus Garden which is advertised as a beer garden and smoking area. This particular smoking area has been a source of amusement for me the past few years. There is a great bar and even outdoor air conditioning. However, you can no longer smoke at the bar or at the tables. There are other seats where you can freely take your drink and smoke, though. This results in quite an amusing scenario. Last time I was there, a lot of folks were taking advantage of what I call the ‘cheap seats’ where smoking is welcome, but only three people sat at the bar and none in the table area. Note that this is outdoors and there is only 3 yards at most separating the smoking and non smoking areas. It still makes me laugh. I remember when smoking was allowed at the bar and it was like a holiday resort – everyone sat at the bar chatting to strangers, having drinks, cigarettes and a good laugh. This is still the same experience, just moved a few yards away.

In terminal 2 there is Hari’s Pub (don’t confuse with Harry’s bar, quite different). As you enter the bar, over to the right hand corner there is a small smoking room – yes, indoors! Order your drink at the bar and tell them you are going to the smoking room. Their waiter service will bring it for you and they will also come to you for further orders, you don’t have to move a muscle. Simply pay at the bar on your way out. How very civilised.

As for hotel smoking rooms in Singapore or America. Yes, you can still get them – don’t believe the hype! I manage to get quite a lot of smoking rooms. Check before booking the hotel and never assume, because of the country, that there is no chance of a smoking room. Places that would surprise you are the Waldorf and the Grand Hyatt in New York. Both have limited smoking rooms. Just don’t book a Marriott in North America as they were the ‘proud’ pioneers of non smoking hotels. You can get smoking rooms with them in other parts of the world though.

I hope some of you might find this information useful, you can find my articles tagged as Bear Tripper on the right hand side. If you have any tips of your own, please add them to the comments. I will try to reply to as many as possible.

Happy travels!uMdW1RtOnxk

19 responses to “Long Haul Layovers – Newark And Singapore

  1. Last time I flew into Florida a friend picked me up from the airport. He’s just bought a new car & doesn’t smoke in the car. We stopped to get gas on the way home and I watched him standing there pumping gas with one hand & puffing on a lit cigarette with the other. I LOVE Florida!

  2. Stopping anywhere in the United States would not be a wise thing for me to do (at least whilst the present regime is in power). Of course I am a nobody – but nobody types have got into trouble before.

    As for Singapore – if I have the money I may well visit Queensland (where I have friends) one day. And Singapore would be my stopping place (as Singapore is nonIslamic – stopping in any Muslim country would not be wise for someone with the sort of things I have in my passport). A direct flght to Australia from Britain (or even from Israel) would simply be too long in the air for me.

    I note, with thanks, the information kindly given about a stop in Singapore.

  3. What have you done to upset the Yanks Paul?

  4. Sadly one does not have to do anything Hugo – opinions (if they are expressed) are sometimes enough. And it is not Americans generally (indeed some of my closest friends are Americans) – but the regime in particular.

    I repeat that I am a nobody (and thus unlikely to be targeted), but nobodies have run into trouble before, and there is no reason to get into irritating situations if they can be avoided.

  5. I think you are desribing how the Obama regime would like things to be rather than how they are. I have a friend in Florida who believes quite literally that Negroes originated when Noah banished his son to ‘live among the beasts of the jungle’ and he started co-habiting with monkeys. And he is far from alone – this view would not be considered at all remarkable in the Deep South. And his views on homosexuals would have him locked up in this country in no time. Although sophisticates such as we might find his views amusingly outdated, if they keep the Muslims out I am quite content to be preached at.
    They do take the First Amendment seriously in America. I cannot see that merely expressing an opinion would get you into trouble – or do you have experience to the contrary?

  6. You forget Hugo – I am not a American citizen. Various rights of the Res-Publica do not extend to auxiliaries like me.

    Besides the First Amendment (like the Second Amendment) may not long be left in this world.

    It is later than most people think.

    Still I may not have an option.

    If the call comes I will go.

    Fat, old, useless I am – but if the call comes I will go.

    Utterly and completely absurd – yes.

    But if the call comes I will go.

    I have eaten American bread too many times, and given pledge of friendship too many times – for me to run away.

  7. I am in a rather odd position – soon after I got involved in all this EU stuff almost twenty years ago, it dawned on me that, should there ever be a conflict between the USA and the EU, my allegiance would lie unequivocally with the US. So I suppose that makes me a traitor, just like George Washington except I’m no hero.
    Curiously, my late father (not that this is relevant to anything and probably of no interest to anyone) also found himself as a traitor to his country through no fault of his own. He was an ethnic German from Romania (his forbears had settled there in the first of many waves of emigration a thousand years earlier). During the war the reservists had the option of joining either the German or Romanian armies, since they were allies. Hitler ‘bribed’ people like my father by offering them a post in the prestigious Waffen SS. My father was taken ill with pleurisy while chasing the Serbs round Yugoslvia and after being released from hospital went home to Romania for three weeks to convalesce. One week after he left Romania the Romanian government changed sides and the Russians came in. From that moment on he was denounced as a traitor in his own country and was never allowed to return home. The Communists seized the family farm. His wife and children, nephews and nieces were all deported to Siberia, but most survived and eventually made it to Germany. He even had two nephews fighting each other on opposing sides. He was capture by the Americans but was not allowed into America as he had been a member of the Nazi Party, so he ended up in a P.O.W. camp in England, having lost everything. Incidentally he knew the Oberst family who ran an ironmongers in his home village. Hermann Oberst had predicted that man would travel to the moon and worked out how to do it – it was he who taught Werner von Braun. Incidentally, having being a Nazi proved no obstacle to the Yanks letting Von Braun in, but who can blame them – he was probably more useful to them than a mere farmer like my dad.

  8. I might be expected to whine at you over the SS thing Hugo. But I have known plenty of people who have been in wars (including World War II) – so I am not in a rush to judge. Plenty of people I have known who have faught on the goodie side in various wars have done terrible things. That is how one survives – as Patton said “I do not want men who will die for their country – I want men who will make the ………. die for his country”. For example no one (apart from an idiot) will warn an enemy when they are behind them – one just shoots them in the back (not noble – war is not noble).

    One has to have been in the shoes of the actual person to be able to fully understand the alternatives as they viewed them. And many of the “marching” SS were just soldiers after all. And many of the regular German army did terrible things (as did their enemies). I believe that people can only be judged as INDIVIDUALS. Punished only for INDIVIDUAL crimes.

    If your father PERSONALLY did terrible things he might have had a problem from me, but not because of the uniform he wore (one can NOT judge by that).

    As or the E.U.

    We just disagree.

    I may be a terrible person (a “man of blood” or whatever), but I just do NOT see the need for violence in this case.

    You see them as a violent threat – and I just do NOT.

    I do not see the E.U. as (for example) Kevin Carson types – out with the “Occupy” movement and supporting savage mobs around the world.

    If someone does NOT need kiling they do NOT need killing – that is my view.

    Not because I am saint (I most certainly am not) I just do not see them as the threat you believe them to be.

    Although you may be right – and I may be totally wrong.

    As for the American government – they are going to have quite a lot on their plate.

    They will have no time for European matters.

  9. Sorry for the late reply – I couldn’t remember what heading I had posted this under.
    You can whine at me all you like about the SS – it’s nothing to do with me! But as always, the stereo-types are often far removed from the reality, and with respect, I think you have fallen for the stereo-type image. You may say I’m biased, but I don’t think I am – I just tell things as I see them.
    My father was called up in war-time. He had a choice of joining the Romanian Army or the German Army – a ‘no-brainer’ I would have said. In what my father described as a ‘trick’ of Hitler’s, the Romanian Germans were offered a posting in the Elite Waffen SS. Please bear in mind that this was a glamorous offer. The grisly connotations associated with the SS did not arise until after the war, or at least later in the war.
    For what it’s worth, my father wanted no part of any of it – his father had died when he was young and he was needed back home to run the family farm. Anyway, he got a job as a cook, until he went down with pleurisy and was hospitalised for five months, then sent back home to Romania for three weeks, which was the last time he saw his home or his family as Stalin took over the country. Then he re-joined his regiment in Yugoslavia and was promptly captured by the Yanks. That was his war. The Romanian Germans were very highly sought after in Britain after the war by the way – they were hard workers and not ardent Nazis.

    Back to the EU – I actually do not think we disagree – I just do not believe I have succeeded in getting you to understand where I am coming from. This is an area where I do consider myself to be particularly well informed, having been actively involved in EU politics for twenty-odd years now.
    We currently have two methods of leaving the EU; leave by the lawful two year process set out in the Lisbon Treaty a.k.a. Constitution for Europe (which is what Nigel Farage is proposing), or tell them to poke the Constitution up their arse and just walk out. I am convinced that either way there will be repercussions for this country which go far beyond anything anybody has so far imagined. If you think they will just let us go, then yes, we can disagree on that point and time will tell who is right. Actually it won’t, because before either of these measures can be taken we have to elect a government to Westminster which will take the necessary action. Now, to return to a point I made earlier, if a UKIP government introduced a Bill to invoke Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty and announce our intention to leave the EU, that would be a very straightforward piece of legislation. But how would you introduce a Bill into the UK Parliament, and submit it to her Majesty for the Royal Assent, which in effect says “Her Britannic Majesty invites the European Commission to stick our new Constitution where the sun don’t shine”? Such a Bill, however diplomatically it was worded, would be violating a treaty by which we are legally bound, only we would be saying we are no longer bound by it. But how would you word the Bill to kick off the process? And however you approach this issue, you will ALWAYS end up with a conflict between the ECJ in Luxembourg and the UK Parliament in Westminster. Again, if you think we would just be able to ignore the ECJ with impunity then I am happy to disagree with you. The EU have been making provisions for precisely this eventuality for years – decades even -and if try to escape we will find out soon enough what these are. I have made this point many times before, but my starting premise is that the EU is bust without us and cannot afford to let us go.

    I don’t wish to insult your intelligence, but you do know the difference between Directives and Regulations I take it? Tell me what would you do with all the Directives once we had left? Believe me it is a minefield!

  10. As always I have had some more thoughts on my post overnight, and there is much detail I have left out; suppose Cameron holds an ‘in-out’ referendum (he won’t, but let’s pretend). Suppose the Great British Public vote to withdraw from the EU. What happens then? Nothing, is the answer. Dave will say ‘Ok, we’ll work on it’ & that will be that. So the referendum would have to include a deadline for action; the government would have to commit to a certain course of action by a certain date. Now, this is where it gets interesting. I have said ad nauseam that if the government invokes Article 50 and places us at the mercy of the EU vultures for a two year period, we as a country will be stripped bare. You may not agree with me on this point, but many in the pro-EU movement will be quick to point out the punishments that await us if we are rash enough to try to leave the warm embraces of the European Union, and many people will believe them, even if you do not.

    Now, if we wanted to avoid the two years in the ‘waiting room’, we would need to hold a referendum which required the government to break the law by violating our own Constitution (which is what the Lisbon Treaty is) and unilaterally repudiating the Lisbon Treaty OTHER THAN by the terms expressly contained in that Treaty. Well, that is NEVER going to happen. Not in a million years. We, the public, would have to acknowledge that we are breaking International Law and breaking the terms of the Treaty which we only recently adopted as our Constitution, and we as a people would have to be prepared to defend our actions with force. Which we are not. Well I am, but I probably wouldn’t have much company.

    As I have said before, prior to 18th June 2009 we could have easily repudiated the Treaty of Rome, as that was a document concluded between sovereign nations as equals. We could have just withdrawn our agreement. Seemples! But now we have placed ourselves under the jurisdiction of the Lisbon Treaty a.k.a Constitution for Europe and our status has changed from a sovereign participating nation to that of a colony of the New European Empire. Our situation is as though we had been conquered by force. Holding a referendum at this stage would be like holding a referendum in the year 1100 revoking the Norman Conquest.

    I am really not convinced that you fully understand the momentous change that took place in 2009 or that you have thought through the implications.

  11. Hugo it is rare to meet (even over the internet) someone more gloomy than me. I hope you are wrong – but I can not prove you are wrong.

    It is something open to proof and disproof only if it occurs – if there is such a vote to come out and then “nothing much happens”.

    Perhaps, in spite of all my attacks on it, I just have some residual faith in the system – in spite of its terrible corruption.

    Deep down I am a lot more like Frank Meyer than I am Murray Rothbard.

  12. Perhaps that is why I watch EWTN (of course Meyer’s passion for tradition, a broad context tradition of Western Civilisation, made that move on his death bed a likely possibility) – the “Path to Rome” does sometimes reach out to me, and I do not mean the Treaty of Rome. Although the one supports the other at the moment – I must confess it is the political (as much as the theological) that holds me back from making that leap.

  13. I missed the SS thing Hugo.

    Had you father been Bulgarian (rather than a Romanian German) the Bulgarian Army would have been a better option than the German (both because it avoided the Russian front and because Bulgaria, internally, followed a more humane policy towards Jews and other than Germany did). Sadly many of those decent Bulgarians ended up being murdered by the Communists after World War II – there were death camps.

    With the Romanian army one faced a choice of going into the same war – but in a worse led and organised force.

    Then one faces the choice between the regular German army and the SS.

    With the benefit of hidesight the regular army would have been the better choice (although it did terrible things at times also). As the SS were so closely connected with Adolf Hitler and the National Socialists.

    However, not all of the SS did terrible things.

    For example, a friend of mine was told by an ex member of SS Viking that he (the ex SS man) had neither done anything against Jews or seen anything done.

    The man gave his word (and was old and near death) – I believed him (and I still do).

  14. Paul – with respect, I feel you are viewing these things with the benefit of 20/20 hindsight. The SS at the time was a glamorous organisation – the cream of the cream of Hitler’s army – and Hitler was a genius. After the war, when the depth of the atrocities were revealed, people’s perceptions changed. I would almost certainly have supported Hitler at least until the 9th of November 1938 – that would have finished me off I think. My father was offered the choice of joining the Romanian army or the SS; he had a nephew in the Romanian army, who came home on leave wearing two left boots because they were so ill-equipped. And many of the Romanian troops were so stupid and ill-educated that they didn’t even know left from right. They had to tie a bunch of hay to one leg and straw to the other and marched to a command of “hay bale – straw bale”.

    I find it hard to reconcile the atrocities committed by the SS with my father’s experiences during the war. He served as a cook with the Prince Eugene regiment, who were chasing Serbian partisans round the mountains in Yugoslavia. Undoubtedly he was lucky. The Romanian Germans were in great demand here in the UK as farm workers after the war, as they were not ardent Nazis like their German cousins. You may say I’m biased, but I am not afraid of the truth. And I’ll tell you one thing – my father was the best cook I have ever known. If that is how the German army ate, it is a wonder that we won the war!

  15. Hugo – of course I am using hide sight, I apologise for not making that clear.

    Had I been, for example, a random Estonian in 1941 and the SS had arrived saying “the Soviets raped your country – help us fight back against them!” who knows what I would have done.

    Your father was a good cook?

    Ah – there we do indeed have something in common.

    That is how conflicts should be settled – by a “cook off”.

    After two good meals it will not even matter which is the better cook – and other points of conflict will have melted away.

  16. Yes, the Finns and the Lithuanians saw the Nazis as liberators. Sadly my father never taught me how to cook! Too late now, he died last year aged 96.

  17. Alas – in the midst of life we are in death.

    My own father would have been 100 on Febuary 2nd.

    My condolences on your loss.

  18. Thank you Paul. I feel it would have been better if he had died a couple of years earlier – his short term memory had gone and he wasn’t able to go out for pretty much the last year of his life. That was the sad part, seeing him reduced both physically and mentally from the very strong person he had been. When he finally went it was a release, and 96 is a pretty good age – not a cause for sadness.
    In his last years he would get very forgetful – he kept going into Marks & Sparks food shopping & then forgetting to pay (which is easy as there is no clear demarcation where the store ends and the mall begins). The manager (whom I found most unsympathetic even though I offered to make up any shortfall) had him banned from the store. But of course he would then forget he had been banned & go back in there, only to be evicted again! He would remonstrate with “I fought in the war you know!”, failing to mention that he was on the other side!

  19. Losing one’s memory (bit by bit) is horrible – and we can all feel it, the periods of confusion (and the blanks) just get longer and longer and more and more for most people as one gets older.

    The major religions of the world teach that our minds are restored in the next world – one can only hope that they are correct. No one knows.

    Still I like the response your father gave the shop manager – that showed wit.