Daily Archives: 9 December, 2012

The Wonders of Technology


Mrs Gabb bought me a Soundlogik USB turntable for my birthday – £22.50 from The Factory Shop. I was prepared to be disappointed. However, it digitises old records as well as I’ve ever heard them play. Indeed, a capture of The Nelson Mass from 1979 sounds about as good as the CD version, allowing, of course, for surface noise. If I fiddle about with changing the needle, it will also do 78rpm records. I think we’ve now reached the point where cheapo stuff is about as good as the more expensive. I will, in due course, upload some of the captures.

Later

Here is a digitisation of Porgi Amor – mono, 1958, Karajan/VPO, Schwartzkopf:

http://www.seangabb.talktalk.net/music/Figaro-Karajan-1958-04-Porgi%20Amor.mp3

And here is a stereo recording from 1960 of Bruno Walter conducting the 3rd Movement of Mahler’s Symphony No 1 in D:

http://www.seangabb.talktalk.net/music/Mahler%20S1%20in%20D%20-%20Walter%20-%20CSO%20-03%20-Feierlich%20und%20gemessen,%20ohne%20zu%20schleppen.mp3

Danse Macabre: The Black Death, Part I


by Gildas the Monk
http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/AnnaRaccoon/~3/ZAVzOV26iZM/

Consider a world in which over the next three months, between 30-50% of the people around you have died of a horrible disease, full of fever and boils, often vomiting blood. What would that be like?

As regular readers will know, from time to time I take a historical topic which I may have heard of, but only have a superficial knowledge, research it and lay the results of my researches before readers of this blog – with our learned editor’s permission. I do not know why. Sometimes I do it for relaxation when I am a bit stressed. Sometimes Raccoon Readers provide their own and learned additional insights. Continue reading