Interview with Sean Gabb


Attack the System: Interview with Sean Gabb

February 9, 2012

Keith Preston interviews Dr. Sean Gabb.Topics include:

  • Libertarianism and its defining ethos as the right to be left alone;
  • The question of whether libertarian ideology is culturally specific to Anglo-Saxon civilization or universally applicable across cultural boundaries;
  • The State as a uniquely oppressive institution;
  • Dr. Gabb’s book, “Cultural Revolution, Culture War,” and the nature of the revolution that has transpired in the Western world in recent decades;
  • The origins of the ideology of political correctness;
  • The end game of PC as absolute power for the ruling elite;
  • How a lack of cultural cohesion prevents effective resistance to the all-powerful state;
  • Strategies for overturning the contemporary ruling class.

Dr. Sean Gabb is the director of the Libertarian Alliance, a British free market and civil liberties think-tank. Sean Gabb joined the Libertarian Alliance in 1979. He graduated in History from the University of York in 1982. In 1998 he gained a PhD in Political and Intellectual History from the University of Middlesex. He became the Director of the Libertarian Alliance in 2006, shortly before the death of its founder Chris Tame.

13 MB / 32 kbps mono / 0 hour 56 min.

Email Keith:
kppgarv

6 responses to “Interview with Sean Gabb

  1. Well done, Dr Gabb. I was not too familiar with you prior to this interview but it was fascinating to hear how you came from a conservative, English nationalist background and came to a libertarian point of view regarding the state, eventually coming to terms with both points of views. This was interesting to me because I have similar points of views (though I am a Southerner, not an Englishman). It was also very interesting to hear your views on immigration. Those of who who support libertarian points of view but oppose mass immigration take a lot of heat from more Left-leaning libertarians. Anyhow, well done. I enjoyed it.

  2. Sean, that is one of your best. It discusses many of the themes we have discussed on this blog for the past few months. As you know, I was first turned onto Gramsci by the Living Marxism people.

    When I was a teenager I remember lying on my bed and reading Enoch Powell on 1992 – where Powell claimed the Single Market was a bad thing for Britain – and it was Marxist economics and its claim to be able to interpret the economy that lured me away from my younger instincts. I loved pouring over maps of the Empire as a child, and I feel very keenly the decline of this country, and in particular the loss of the relationship with Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

    I am hoping the EU problems force a reorientation of our politics and economics towards traditional partners…

  3. Thoroughly enjoyable interview. My only thought while listening is that Libertarians need to consider Paul Gottfried’s view more thoroughly (which was mentioned). His analysis of the trajectory of Marxism, particularly that it is no longer identifiably Marxism, has a lot to offer.

  4. Thanks everyone. If I were any good at raising money, I’d employ the lot of you and give the ruling class of this country a very hard time. As it is, we all do what we can.

  5. It’s remarkable good, Sean. Everything that had to be said, was said. The Political EnemyClass really, morally, can have no answer. Whether it’ll do us any good remains to be seen.

  6. Hey there! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for the great information you have right here on this post. I am returning to your web site for more soon.