Food rationing coming nearer


Michael Winning

First they came for the smokers, and I didn’t speak out, for I was not a smoker. Then, they came for the drinkers, and….and so on.

I thinks I see a food rationing green scam coming on. Hat tip the Underdog, a fat tax will get thourhg I think because nobody cares and the papers all want you to be thin.

5 responses to “Food rationing coming nearer

  1. Sometimes I feel total despair. Other times, I feel like every step they take is a step closer to a reaction against them that must surely come.

    But I don’t know. I just wish these terrible people would go away, or all die or something. All I’ve ever wanted was to just be left alone to quietly live my life, which involves eating a few cakes, and I really think that’s just between me and the cake shop. I never asked for the opinion of these people. I don’t want their advice or their help.

    Like many Libertarians, I discuss and consider grand political alternatives and theories. But really, I’d be quite happy with England pretty much as it is, but without the busybodies. It doesn’t seem like too much to ask, to be allowed to eat a cake unmolested, does it?

  2. Ian, Paul Johnson called what you and we see as the focussed attempt by the busybodies to prevent you eating a few cakes, “the tyranny of ideas”. This was in the last chapter of his excellent book “Intellectuals”. I recommend it to you unless you have, possibly, already read it.

  3. I’ll see if I can find a copy of that to read, David.

  4. Me too!, “the tyranny of ideas”, brilliant.

  5. Yes – this food rationing (and control) thing does seem to be part of the leftist agenda.

    But it will not go unopposed.

    Actually I suspect it is a classic case of “over reach”.