Sean on the Beeb to defend Smokers


I did this last night on Radio 5 Live. I did it from a landline, and my own sound is pretty awful. Even so, I think I walked all over the silly woman who was put up against me.

Sean Gabb defends smokers

9 responses to “Sean on the Beeb to defend Smokers

  1. Do I get the feeling, again, that hitherto-mild-mannered libertarians, such as the pillars and promoters of civilised discourse, are beginning to get riled?

    What fun we shall soon have!

  2. I’ve just listened all the way through: Sean, that was bloody brilliant! You eviscerated the foul woman!

    What this shows is that the kinds of people that favour compulsion of individuals towards approved behaviour and permitted activities only, have no sort of human pity or feelings at all.

    All that we increasingly recommend, about how to deal with their futures after a liberal victory, will be required.

  3. Splendid! Mind you, I doubt she’ll think about what you said – as you rightly said, she is a health fascist, and no argument, logical or otherwise will sway her.

    There was a terrific quote in a Telegraph reader comment the other day which fits the anti-smoking fanatics rather well, I think:

    “Of all tyrannies, a tyranny exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It may be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron’s cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end, for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.” (C. S. Lewis)

    It was used by “IanBB”. IanB who posts occasionally on this forum?

  4. Sean, you must go for the Jugular every time.

    The earlier the presenter cracks, and the earlier the station producer turns off your microphone, the more clear the Enemy-Class’s bias will appear to be.

  5. That was a very powerful ending where you so clearly highlighted that stupid womans sadism. Where she very stupidly admitted that the patients welfare was irrelevant to her and that she was happy to see them suffer in order to ‘send a message’.

    Two points i’d make, don’t make the mistake of arguing that tobacco isn’t unhealthy. I could hear them try to force you into that position, it is a trap. Acknowledge that it is potentially unhealthy but that is peoples free choice.

    The other point is to take the oppositions argument to its logical extreme, that following their logic they would ban anyone eating a chocolate bar on hospital grounds due to it being ‘unhealthy’.

    Well done. You made her sound like a petulant nag. Perfect. Can you promise us that we will be hearing your voice any more in the near future?

  6. Sorry, but the Beeb decides when and where I get on. This being said, I am turning over the possibility of setting up LATV and delevering a sermon every Sunday morning.

  7. I bet when the news got around the BBC that you’d been allowed on the airwaves and not been made a figure of ridicule that there were some angry managers demanding to know how it had been allowed.

    No doubt all dressed up in nice language about not giving publicity to ‘marginal extremists’. ;)

  8. If you will set up LA-TV, I will certainly book-face it separately both on here if you don’t simultaneously, and on Bookface each time. I currently reach nearly 1,000 Americans on it, plus sundry British.

    I really loved the way you just tore the wicked witch’s arse off and threw it onto the studio floor. I suspect actually that they will have you back more rather than less, to show us up as raging skinhead extremists, which might turn out to our advantage.

  9. Thanks. She did go another round with me this morning. i will upload the recording if and when I get it.