One day, art will take its proper place


David Davis

I never usually read movie reviews, not knowing or caring about movies apart from “The Dam Busters” and perhaps “The Lord Of The Rings”. But I just had to click on “Pay, Sit, Barf” – partly because I didn’t know what “barf” means and still I don’t.

But what this “movie critic” appears to be writing about – amusingly – is one example of the self-indulgent narcissism exhibited by some of the things called “movie stars”. I don’t know whether it’s the “stars” themselves who’d like to be thought of as thinking like what she describes a-propos of Julia Roberts: or whether it’s the generalised studio-corporate-direction, being as it is a projecting-part of the Western Political Enemy-Class, that causes films to be made that sound like the ones I would pay to _/not/_ watch.

However, Lindy West’s article is amusing and I wanted to share it.

2 responses to “One day, art will take its proper place

  1. FYI – Barf is US slang for vomit.

  2. Ah….that’s OK then.