The best thing on telly in 1983



Sean Gabb

Most other people seem to have hated it. But this is the only television I watched in 1983, and I loved every minute. I even feel a slight influence on the writings of Richard Blake.

5 responses to “The best thing on telly in 1983

  1. Test

  2. I preferred “I Claudius” – from a few years earlier.

  3. This had a manic feel about it that I adored. Also, while the Ptolemies were all Greeks, who only put on Egyptian costume when they showed themselves outside Alexandria, this was probably as accurate a portrayal of the Hellenistic collapse as you’ll ever see on the telly.

  4. I guess that Mr Blake advised you about that stuff, all of which he is an expert on!

  5. Remarkable cast, remarkably wooden acting and script. No Sian Phillips.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/arts/sites/sian-phillips/images/sian-phillips_01_446.jpg

    Still, all redeemed by wonderful kitsch value and gratuitous bare breasts.