…but some are more equal than others…


I am a “FAR RIGHT social libertarian”!

David Davis

9 responses to “…but some are more equal than others…

  1. Hah! You may be more right wing than I am. But I am more libertarian. That surely makes us equal.

  2. chris southern

    I couldn’t get the box and info to appear in my earlier response (that didn’t appear)

    I register on the bottom line fourth box from the right (social libetarian)

  3. I believe this stuff was based on something called a “Johari Window”, a sort of device for rating brands and prodicts in a firm’s portfolio as “Question Marks”, Stars”, “Cash Cows” and “dogs”. We learned about this in the 1970s on “business management” courses that we got sent on.

  4. I love the political compass test, I showed my result to a A-Level Politics student who was dumbfounded when she realised you could be right-wing AND libertarian. (What are they teaching them? The mind boggles.)

    For the record here’s mine http://www.crazyelmont.co.uk/about/

  5. A level politics students have never heard of the following, in the UK:-

    Hayek, von Mises, Karl Popper, Rothbard, Michael Oakeshott, Ralph Harris, Arthur Seldon, Peter Bauer (who he, especially???) and several others you can guess.

    They have heard of Enoch Powell, some of them anyway, who, they are told, “advocated rivers of blood”.

  6. Hell, I was obviously one of the lucky ones. I was told about Rothbard in my A level politics course. Briefly. Anarcho-capitalism was but a subset of anarchism, which itself was but a subset in a module called “radical ideologies”, the others being fascism and, er, feminism.

  7. Tony Hollick

    Let us hope that at least some A Level philosophy and science students will have heard of Karl Popper.

    I don’t know that I would describe Ralph Harris or Arthur Seldon as political thinkers — more like popularisers. Anarchism is a radical philosophy — see Peter Marshall’s “Demanding the Impossible.”

    Tony

  8. Tony Hollick

    Freedom House is a crisp source of information and comparisons for assessing the relative merits and dmerits of countries and political systems.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freedom_house#Freedom_in_the_World

    Tony