Patrick Foster, sorry, who?


UPDATE1:- Curly’s Corner Shop has done a masterful roundup of blogosphere reactions to Patrick Foster’s “outing” of poor old hard-writing Nightjack – whose output will grow in stature with time, unlike Foster’s which will crumble to dust and blow away… (apologies, it’s the Blogmaster butting in unannounced here)…and an excellent perspective by CarterMagna. Here’s mummylonglegs, which is why you are reading in the first place!

MummyLongLegs

Patrick Foster has just become a legend in his own lunch time. For all the wrong reasons. Enjoy it Patrick, it won’t last long.

The Times discovers something nobody is interested in.

Yep, top news story this. The Times has decided to disclose the details of Richard Horton aka NightJack. He tried to defend his right to privacy but The Times were so determined to ‘oust’ him they even went to court over it. They spent a lot of time, effort and money to do this. Why ?. Was he a kiddy fiddler ? - No. Was he a rapist ? - No. Was he a murderer? – No. Was he, god forbid, a corrupt MP? – Oh no, no, no.

So, Why?. Well, NightJack is a blogger. Not any old blogger (like Moi) he’s a copperblogger. And one of the very, very best. Last year he was awarded the Orwell Prize for political writing.  The Times reckon there was a public interest in non-compliance by a police officer with his obligations under the statutory code governing police behaviour.

Me, I reckon that Times journalist, Patrick Foster, is a nasty, lazy, bitter little so and so that would rather spend hours/days/weeks at his computer trying to mess up someone else’s life, rather than get off his useless backside and investigate something, in fact, anything, that the British public actually give a flying monkeys chuff about?. I think Foster and his ilk are more than a little jealous and more than a lot scared by bloggers. I wonder how many writing awards Foster has won in his journalistic career.

Let’s be honest, the likes of Patrick Foster know their days are numbered. More and more big stories are being broken by bloggers. Those that blog the serious shit do so because they feel a need to. They stick to their topics and plug away at them. They don’t publish a quick headline grabber then bugger off to the next Jade Goody/Jordan type tripe. Bloggers can choose what they want to write about. They do not get paid so they can keep going back again and again and again to their chosen area.

Why pay for a paper when you can scan the net, pick out what you are interested in and ignore the rest. Journalists like Patrick Foster know this. Their papers are losing readers and money, hand over fist. They don’t like it. They could of course start their own bloggs but they are too lazy and too greedy. Why write honest truthful opinions for free when you can get some dead wood manufacturer pay you lot’s of money for utter bollocks.

Bloggers care about what they write, they feel passionately about the topics they choose to focus on. They write about stuff that means a lot to them. For no real benefit other than getting their opinions out there for all to read. Journalists get paid to write stuff, so what gets written depends on who is paying the check. Journalists write to make money. Do they care about what they write about, I don’t think so. It’s just a story, write it, flog it, move on.

There is a difference between bloggers and journalists. A very big difference. People have to pay for journalists. They don’t have to pay for bloggers. I read approx 25 – 40 bloggs a day. I read them because they write what I want to read. I don’t buy a single paper. I read the MSM online to see what is going on in the wider world but I read bloggs to see what is going on in mine. The bloggs I read relate to me and my life and I suspect that a lot of blog readers are the same as me. I don’t always agree with the bloggers opinions but via the comments section, I have a way to air my views and discuss our differences.

Patrick Foster, I am sure you have gotten youself very excited over your ousting of NightJack. I bet you feel just fab. You ‘exposed’ a blogger. Get you honey, rocking along with your investigative journalism. Fuck me, I bet you reckon you could teach Sherlock and Watson a thing or two right now. I hate to be a party pooper and all that, but, I have to point something out. Who have you really upset. In reality. Have you pissed off NightJack – yep, a lot, but he took it on the chin, and so did his seniors. Written warning, he expected that and so did we. NightJack deleted his blogg. Who read his blog. Well I did, but I’m just a Mum. I reckon 70% or above (shoot me if I’m wrong) of his readers were Coppers.

Some advice Patrick. If I were you I would set up a savings account and not move from my desk. You grabbed a headline and made some wonga. You also fucked off, beyond all belief, just about all of the British Police Force. I hope you paypacket for this story was worth it. If I was a copper, right now, I would hunt you. And make you pay for what you have done. I would watch your bins, watch you parking, I would fine you to within an inch of your bank balance.

NightJack – I wish you all the best and I thankyou for your blog, it was fucking ace. I am sorry that some wittering fucking twat put you in fear of your job and I am sorry you have been exposed. I hope, one day, to see your writing again (write the book – WRITE IT!!!!!).

This is nearly a double post but I have removed most of the swear words, well, the really sweary ones anyway.

Mummy x

10 responses to “Patrick Foster, sorry, who?

  1. Bodwyn Wook

    Them press pimps can write ME up any day, I need the PR…sigh!

    Well, newspaper journalism isn’t the only thing that is totally done up the duff & far from home:

    http://bodwyn.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/as-matters-stand-now-will-the-dollars-collapse-be-libertys-great-chance/

  2. I somehow get the feeling that mummy is a bit angry here. Me too.

  3. Pingback: Patrick Foster, sorry, who? | Jade Goody Blogs

  4. Yes, a shame they took the blog away. I only just found it because of this.
    However.
    I do think the British pontificate quite a lot (bless them, it keeps the wheels of civilisation from falling off completely?)
    I would say if he did not want to be revealed then he should have made rather very sure he could not be revealed – ie, covered his tracks. He is a policeman, after all, and should be well versed in all that stuff?
    I also feel the judge pontifcates – Not in the public interest to keep his identity secret. What on earth does he mean and is it relevant? Does he mean it is in the public interest to have NightJack’s identity revealed? Does he mean the public would be interested to know who he is, which is something completely different, of course. But that is a definition that some folk (especially journalists) like to blur.
    I suppose if anything it was in the public’s interest to keep him secret because then he could have exposed more bad stuff?

  5. Pingback: Night Jack and Foster « Curly’s Corner Shop, the blog!

  6. Pingback: NightJack update and round up | Anonymong

  7. Bodwyn Wook

    The Met did in this guy in March of 2009:

    http://worldwearydetective.blogspot.com/

    And, Blues & Twos died the death last year, it seems. But, Plastic Fuzz and others are still going, PC Pinkstone is safely abroad I think, and Copperfield is drawing unfavourable comparisons right now from somewhere in the middle of…Manitoba!

  8. Just not cricket.

  9. I have written about the law on this… but in the end I can find no redeeming features whatsoever in what Patrick Fister did….

    I have my own sardonic take on it

    http://charonqc.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/anonymous-mastermind-behind-ministry-of-justice-outed/

    and here

    http://charonqc.wordpress.com/2009/06/16/blogging-and-anonymity/

  10. A Former Officer

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/1531307/Student-barred-over-sex-film.html

    Seems that Mr. Foster is a bit of a perv – let the karma roll Patrick… you are pathetic.