The Labour government is coming apart at the seams. Should libertarians care at all?


David Davis

I can’t really summon up much self-hysteria for this matter.

It’s like when the Berlin Wall fell while being videoed on live Wireless Tele Vision, in November 1989.

I sat there*** rocking back and forth, and silently crying, on the sofa-that-is-long-junked, and then I staggered up to bed with my (then) live-in-girlfriend, and we slept the sleep of the unconscious together – no sex that night. Or like the Cavalry-Major who witnessed the Armistice in 1918, and said what an anti-climax it was, as his squadron’s bicycles could not keep up with the retreating Germans.

***I saw it put up, and prophesied in 1987 that it would fall down “soon”, (and got sacked from my employer for my pains – although to be fair my beliefs on this one formed part of a generally-disliked-pattern of liberalism – my then-employers thought with deep sincerity that they were “communications management” “consultants“) and then I saw it fall down.

The fall of this lot here in Westmonster is trivial in the extreme, when compared with those events 20-odd years ago.

3 responses to “The Labour government is coming apart at the seams. Should libertarians care at all?

  1. Fred Bloggs

    As much as we will be delighted at labour’s downfall, another party will be voted back in again before we can say jack sprat.

    Its like we need better weed killer, as it keeps growing back every time will kill it.

  2. Still not ready to make nice…

    Tony

    PS I know it’s utterly irrelevant to the posting, but I like it! (Smiles!)

  3. Graham Davies

    It’s indicative of the state British politics is in. We all know that New Labour may well have fumbled the ball, but Blue Labour will be there to catch it right away, and play will continue just the same. They won’t even break their stride doing it!