Euro destruction: perhaps, in 1998 I merely spoke too soon.


David Davis

About eleven years ago, I was in a newsgroup called “eurofaq”: I believe it still to be in operation somewhere (probably on yahoogroups now if you want to go searching.) To enliven our internal exchanges with intelligence from elsewhere, I had various run-ins with some starry-eyed young people from something called “YEM”.

To do this, I used to go and lurk on their groups under the name of Jacques Bommaerts, a Belgian “student”, occsionally surfacing to ask seemingly naive questions about the forthcoming Euro, such as how one currency could be imposed on 15 nations – remember! We in the UK were to be for it too! – without either elections or referenda, and under what economic parameters it was to operate.

The responses of enraged and indignant uproar were fun to behold.

Eventually I was rumbled. Years before most of us knew about internetty-stuff, a clever-clogs on the Enemy Staff worked out that my IP address was the same as an identifiable member of eurofaq, and I was expelled from the YEM crowd amid showers of rotting cyber-cabbages and virtual-tomatoes. But the fun lasted about a year.

At the end, on my exit, I bet one of them £25 that the Euro, starting about 70p, would be under 50p by Christmas. unfortunately it wasn’t and I had to pony up, which I did.

And now, today, we have this Simon Heffer analysis – of where the Euro, and indeed the entire fascist EU project, stands.

Years pass, and I might even have been dead by now, but I’m not, which is fortunate. I have lived to see the day when the Euro might actually come undone, be toast, totalled. Another Rouble-type experiment to actually bite the dust…and in my lifetime too. 

Actually, it’s very sad: I have lived to see that modern people  _still_  let their governments get away with not learning the lessons of History. This is the main problem that I think should concern libertarians, if we are at some distant time to form the very kind of administration which sets out to cull most of the State.

A major philosophical battle will need to take place about de-sovietisation of money, so that no further disastrous monetary union experiments are tried.

2 responses to “Euro destruction: perhaps, in 1998 I merely spoke too soon.

  1. Steven Northwood

    That was a great story David. I think things must get much worse before it is actually scrapped, but with the current world leadership it could well be. There’s already talk of Obama being a one-term President.

  2. Dave:

    Advance directly to:

    http://www.fantastic-voyage.net

    “Live long enough to live forever,,,”

    Really, seriously… Do it! Do it now!

    Tony