Everybody’s doing it!


Do the Twist!

David Davis

Here’s your blogeditor’s score:-

political-quiz

And it’s an excuse for some music, which my junior staff have been too lazy – or too overcome by homework – to air for a while:-

Wonder why that rhythm always makes me think of Walschaerts valve gear?

13 responses to “Everybody’s doing it!

  1. Right. I’m going to take this test again, as it’s been a while.

    (like checking for blood pressure, it’s important to keep tabs on one’s own politics)

    How are you anyway David, life treating you well I trust?

    I’ve moved to a dot com now, in case you weren’t aware. Hope to see you on ours soon.

    Take care fella

    Regards

    John Demetriou

  2. Robert Groezinger

    David,
    Can you give us the link to that Libertarian-Authoritarian-Left-Right score thingy please?

  3. Dave:

    Try this!

    “World’s Smallest Political Quiz” from
    Advocates for Self Government

    http://www.theadvocates.org/quizp/index.html

    Post the result!

    Best,

    Tony (hard to classify…)

  4. Dave:

    Left Libertarian Liberal, perhaps…

    Tony (not a neo-con)

  5. Dear John,

    good to see yer again, I will look you up and update the link in our list. DD

  6. Dave:

    Everything you need to know.

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neocon

    I can post Professor Shadia Drury’s devastating essay, if you like.

    Best,

    Tony

  7. Dave:

    http://www.evatt.labor.net.au/publications/papers/112.html

    Shadia Drury’s devastating analysis of Strauss and the Neocons.

    Best,

    Tony

  8. No no Tony –

    You mistook my request!

    What do YOU think a neocon is?

    (I thought Strauss and the Neocons were a pop gorupl anyway.)

  9. sorry, “pop group”….

  10. Dave:

    I’m not big on political labels, nor am I into the endless regress of “the meaning of words.” What should be taken seriously are problem-situations, hypotheses, actions, the problems they solve, and the problems they raise.

    I’m a Popper boi….

    I.e. I’m a nominalist, not an essentialist when it comes to words and their meanings.

    Almost invariably, the value of any discussion is inversely proportional to the time spent discussing “the meaning of words.” I don’t think that the prime purpose of philosophy should be the analysis of language.

    Best,

    Tony

  11. Steven Northwood

    “You are a center-left social libertarian.
    Left: 2.72, Libertarian: 4 ”

    Foreign Policy: Non-interventionist.
    Culture: Cultural liberal.

    I’m quite happy with that. I feared it may come out as Gramsco-Marxian! :-)