“Tell you what, guv! We’ll ruin Sterling for you, while pretending to be prudent, and then we’ll pretend you’re rescuing us by letting us in!”


UPDATE: Perhaps…the EU really IS the problem? And its presence merely encourages our own home-grown Nazis to behave even more Sovietically than they would naturally – which is not very natural to them, being British as they are…..(or perhaps I am being too charitable towards them.)

David Davis

The pound is heading towards the Euro as we speak. I do not care, really: so what? They’re all false “FIAT” type toilet paper anyway, so it does not matter what value each unit (not) has, so long as the (not) value is known.

But perhaps this was all engineered a long time ago. For the defining event to be so, so long after the actual battle which the Euro lost, which was to engulf Sterling, that enough “Big Brother” and “X factor” episodes have taken place for “the people” to have forgotten what this was all about in the first place.

2 responses to ““Tell you what, guv! We’ll ruin Sterling for you, while pretending to be prudent, and then we’ll pretend you’re rescuing us by letting us in!”

  1. Steven Northwood

    I doubt it was engineered point-for-point, but Brown and those within the Exchequer may well have known that the wheels were going to come off sooner or later.

    I mean, they couldn’t have engineered the economic and financial problems in the US, but they may well have known, probably some point after Darling had taken over, that the end was nigh.

    Personally I think it’ll be interesting. Since the eleven years of Labour Government started, there hasn’t been any real financial catastrophe, and this will be my first experience of economic turmoil, if infact such a thing is truly upon us.

    I fancy my chances. If, when David Cameron comes to power, he produces a copy of Human Action whilst standing in the Commons and exclaims ‘this is what we believe’, then I reckon for the likes of me the only way is up.

  2. Steven Northwood

    Oh, actually it was Hayek’s Constitution of Liberty which Thatcher produced. Maybe I won’t do so well after all eh? :-)