I have been wanting to slag off telechefs for years, they being the epitome of what makes thinking people hate the West. Someone got there first, what a bummer, I am a lazy thicko.


David Davis

Samizdata does a keenly-written and thoughtful hatchet-job on Gordon Ramsay. Wish I’d thought of that attack myself, it’s good and to the point, specially in the persent planetary climate of global cooling and impending famine-disaster, and how globalisation could save whole populations of humans (who then would not die) in return for money. AttaPerry!

I have, as it says, been becoming increasingly irritated, and hurt also, by “telechefs” and their policy-positions (which they affect to have, as is strange) for some years. There is no wikipage for these people which I also find strange, given the effect they seem to have on the political life of the nation as regards food and consumption patterns.

On the one hand, they (seem to) seek to spice up our gustatory lives and palates, with delectably-prepared and televisually-fondled stuff that looks scrumptious, and sounds even better. They use all sorts of materials that seem exotic and come from faraway places, like Peru (strawberries and asparagus in the Northen Hemisphere winter – grand! Why the f*** didn’t we think of that years ago?)

On the other hand, having got famous and affording Ferraris and other restaurants, they are thus therefore available to be brown-nosed by Al Gore and other pop singers and film stars of his ilk. Gore and the othet film stars and pop singers are of course all great scientists and logicians, and so “telechefs”, falling under the baleful influence of these devils in return for money, seek to do these things:-

(a) ruin any pleasure gained from authorised-daytime-eating-activity for British schoolchildren, and

(b) support the pre-capitalist and barbarian notion that all food ought to be “locally grown or raised”. EU grandees, who do and support nothing of this kind whatever (or they would get bored and therefore starve), eat at their restaurants.

My own comment on the samizdata post, about what could be done to telechefs, seems to have been removed. Perhaps I will decide not to offer to write for them after all….Or, perhaps their spam-filter took out “television-cooking-pron”. I really thought “pron” would get through. Oh well, never mind. Perhaps they will de-censor it for you, I hope so (see comments.)

6 responses to “I have been wanting to slag off telechefs for years, they being the epitome of what makes thinking people hate the West. Someone got there first, what a bummer, I am a lazy thicko.

  1. They don’t normally censor at samizdata. If your post was “smited” that’s just their automated spam filter and it’ll turn up presently. Some of my posts have triggered it too. I got quite shirty about it at one point (I’m ashamed to say) and had to have how things work firmly explained to me. :)

  2. OK thanks Ian. I will withdraw my threat not to accept to write for them after being invited…er…!

  3. Pingback: Media Districts Entertainment Blog » I have been wanting to slag off telechefs for years, they being the epitome of what makes thinking people hate the West. Someone got there first.

  4. Nah, you’re not Dave, just one of life’s pragmatists. I’m glad to say it, I’m now a proud member of the Libertarian Alliance! Don’t worry boys I won’t show up to the dinners. Ah, but think of it though, a real network of people I can talk to (not like that last lot I sent you Sean, I promise that’ll never happen again…) :-) and finally get into these books. I treid dipping into Freidrich Hayek in the library, but I couldn’t stop myself relflecting out into the window, considering the real value of a pressed and printed cotton banknote, and why I had been slightly blind for all those years.

  5. Steven, my dear old chap.

    Thank you for your kind words. I’m sure you’d be welcome at any dinners (dunno, I’ve never been to any, being a bumpkin yokel, but I’m sure you’d not spit in the soup or eat off your knife, like I would…)

    We love you (in the St Paulian sense.) Keep buggering on like the rest of us, will you, please!

  6. Pingback: Oh, and look at this about Gordon Ramsay (posted about yesterday.) « The Libertarian Alliance: BLOG