Libertarian blogger spanked. They don’t like me over at “strange maps”. I criticised a Grayson Perry map….


….which I thought was

(a) anti-English -a and I am a libertarian, and now perceive that “Englishness” as it is expressed popularly and “liberalism” are increasingly convergent, 

(b) made fun of people with disabilities such as Tourette’s Syndrome and agoraphobia, which are very unfunny conditions to have, 

(c) was just, er, well, not very good  as a piece of art…being my usual mealy-mouthed self, I used the word “crap”. I could have said more but that was somebody else’s blog and I don’t swear and curse on other people’s blogs (only here, and only sometimes, and devilskitchen does it better anyway,)

I also suggested that some of the voluble commentators who wetted themselves over it needed help. Perhaps this was over the top, but I was angry that seemingly otherwise-normal, articulate and intelligent people would wet themselves in a positive way, over, well, nothing very impressive or admirable.

Being a libertarian does not mean that I must not can’t make objective judgements about what is good or bad.

I got lambasted by various people who thought the map was the greatest thing since sliced bread. The Masterblogger of “strangemaps” himself indeed berated me, in public! (That is his right, for the blog is his property.)  But this blog got at least 44 hits it would not have got otherwise, so I guess it makes me what we called in the 1950s a “Yellow Journalist”. OK.

Thankfully I guess, I didn’t venture my opinions on Grayson Perry himself and his (implied) “artistic” proclivities, or else I would be banned from the internet, my computer would be seized by the police, and I would end up on the sex-offenders’ register for my beliefs about Perry’s “art”. (See “political correctness”, on this blog, earlier, about 2 days ago.)

Strange Maps is a great blog by the way. Everybody ought to go there from time to time, for you will learn things that astound you, and some things will even be useful. You can find the map in question by looking for “Every Englishman is an Island”.

4 responses to “Libertarian blogger spanked. They don’t like me over at “strange maps”. I criticised a Grayson Perry map….

  1. Hi, Dave.

    I’m not sure you know what a real spanking looks like… To find out, advance to:

    http://www.realspankings.com

    Have a look at the first few videos. Jackie is very winning. >:-}

    The girls do this stuff as volunteers; they can also make up to a thousand bucks a session. There’s a significant “contest of wills’ about it all.

    Regards,

    Tony

  2. “Thankfully I guess, I didn’t venture my opinions on Grayson Perry himself and his (implied) “artistic” proclivities, or else I would be banned from the internet, my computer would be seized by the police, and I would end up on the sex-offenders’ register for my beliefs about Perry’s “art”. (See “political correctness”, on this blog, earlier, about 2 days ago.)”

    Buddy, don’t flatter yourself. Being a dick in comments on someone else’s blog does not make you a martyr to the imaginary PC police; it just makes you a dick.

  3. Hello, “anonymous”.

    Why are you anonymous?

    If I had been anomymous on strangemaps, would that have meant that I was not a “dick”, or would it have meant that I had morphed into you?

    The difference between you and me is that, although we both have opinions….

    (a) yours differ from mine,
    (b) I don’t “go forth like a thief in the night”.

    Furthermore, is it my dislike of Grayson Perry – both as person and as a machine-generator of “controversial and challenging” “art” – what makes me into a “dick”?

    I only ask because I want to know, one way or the other. If you answer, I’ll know you are human. If not, then you only did the cyberblog-equivalent of shrieking “DICK!” out of the window of a speedily-passing car, and disappearing into the wide-blue-yonder.

  4. How can they be ‘volunteers’ if the y are being paid for it?