“I only ask because I want to know”. A 5p bottle of State-champagne-substitute (or 4 grillion State alcohol-free-drink-coupons) to the first bolg-responder who correctly identifies and places my title-quote.


I do like this one from Jackie Danicki. Reprinted here in full as it’s good, and you don’t have to click stuff.

Inquiring minds want to know

September 12th, 2007

Have you ever had people look at you with a “Please stop inquiring” panic in their eyes while their mouths tell you that you are asking irrelevant or silly questions about something? Join the club. This is a good thing:

[T]he most important [thing I learnt at Oxford] was the ability to ask ’stupid’ questions, as in very simple questions, which often go to the heart of the problem and ferret out inconsistencies. With that comes the confidence to ask when things don’t make sense. Even when everyone else is looking like they know what’s going on. There is a touch of irreverence and disruption in that. And it maximises your chances of coming up with the right answer.

I would say this is a habit that is useful especially when everyone else is looking like they know what’s going on. Those are often the times when the crowd is swimming in BS, and disturbing them can make for all sorts of fun and revelation. This is not a path to popularity, but – more importantly – it will attract others who have no time for all that BS either. Why would you want to be popular with those who do?

Now then! Doesn’t that just tell us everything we want to know about the global-warm-mongers? And the anti-slavery lobby (Libertarians will know that it’s still going on by the way, and the Royal Navy, trashed by Brown, still gets no credit for attenuating it thanklessly for nearly 200 years, now typically off the coasts of Indian Ocean countries that I can’t mention.)

One response to ““I only ask because I want to know”. A 5p bottle of State-champagne-substitute (or 4 grillion State alcohol-free-drink-coupons) to the first bolg-responder who correctly identifies and places my title-quote.

  1. Pingback: “I only ask because I want to know”. A 5p bottle of State … | Coupon Dude