Property Rights of a Toddler


Having a young baby provides you new and profound insights into human nature. I obtained this lovely poem from the headmistress of an excellent Montessori neighbourhood nursery school.

If I like it, it’s mine.

If it’s in my hand, it’s mine.

If I can take it from you, its mine.

If it’s mine, it must never appear to be your’s, in anyway.

It I had it a while ago, it’s mine.

If I’m doing or building something, all the pieces are mine.

If it looks just like mine, it’s mine.

If I think its mine, it’s mine.

3 responses to “Property Rights of a Toddler

  1. This is eerily similar to how organisations like Microsoft, the MPAA and the RIAA approach “intellectual property”. Also, I think this logic was used by the US Supreme Court in its Kelo v. City of New London emminent domain decision.

  2. “If property is theft, then theft is property – therefore your stuff is mine”.

    The posting shows why greed is NOT the same thing as property right.

    The test to see if people really believe in property is not whether they say “this is mine”, but whether they say (and believe) “that is really nice, but it is yours”.

    The test is to resist temptation – whether to steal the nice stuff oneself, or to get the government to do the stealing.

  3. Thanks, always good posts on your blog!